Milan – Becker d. Volkov (F)
Lyon – J.McEnroe d. Hlasek (F)
Indian Wells – Mecir d. Noah (F); Mecir d. Connors (SF)
Key BiscayneLendl d. Muster (F); Muster d. Noah (SF)
Davis CupEdberg d. Antonitsch, Skoff d. Wilander (QF)
Dallas – J.McEnroe d. Gilbert (F); J.McEnroe d. Lendl (SF)
Monte Carlo – Mancini d. Becker (F)
Hamburg – Lendl d. Skoff (F)
RomeMancini d. Agassi (F)
Roland Garros – Chang d. Lendl (4R)
Queens Club – Lendl d. Van Rensburg (F)
WimbledonBecker d. Gunnarsson (3R); Edberg d. Woodbridge (2R)
Davis CupSteeb d. Agassi, Becker d. Agassi & Edberg (SF)
IndianapolisJ.McEnroe d. Berger (F)
Montreal – Lendl d. J.McEnroe (F); Lendl d. Agassi, J.McEnroe d. Berger (SF)
Cincinnati – Gilbert d. Edberg (F); Gilbert d. Becker (SF)
US OpenConnors d. Edberg (4R); Becker d. Rostagno, Sampras d. Wilander (2R)
BaselCourier d. Edberg (F)
Toulouse – Connors d. J.McEnroe (F)
Tokyo – Krickstein d. Edberg (SF)
Paris – Becker d. Edberg (F); Edberg d. Krickstein,
Becker d. J.McEnroe (SF); Becker d. Masur (QF)
Stockholm  – Lendl d. Gustafsson (F)
New York (Masters) – Edberg d. Becker (F);
Edberg d. Lendl, Becker d. J.McEnroe (SF)
Davis Cup – Becker d. Wilander (F)
RotterdamEdberg d. Mecir (F)
MemphisAgassi d. Pernfors (F)
Indian Wells – Becker d. E.Sanchez (F); Becker d. Agassi (SF)
Key BiscayneWilander d. Connors (F); Connors d. Mecir (SF)
Dallas – Becker d. Edberg (F); Edberg d. Noah (SF)
Tokyo – J.McEnroe d. Edberg (F)
Monte Carlo – Lendl d. Jaite (F)
Hamburg – K.Carlsson d. Leconte (F)
Forest Hills – Agassi d. Zivojinovic (F)
RomeLendl d. Perez-Roldan (F)
Roland GarrosLeconte d. Becker (4R);
Becker d. Muster, Wilander d. Zivojinovic (3R)
Queens Club – Becker d. Edberg (F)
WimbledonEdberg d. Forget (1R)
Davis CupWilander d. Noah, Edberg d. Leconte (SF)
Indianapolis – Becker d. J.McEnroe (F)
Toronto – Lendl d. Curren (F)
Cincinnati – Wilander d. Edberg (F)
Long Island (exh.) – Agassi d. Noah (F)
US Open – Krickstein d. Edberg, Agassi d. Chang (4R)
Seoul (Olympics) – Mecir d. Mayotte (F)
PalermoWilander d. K.Carlsson (F)
BaselEdberg d. Hlasek (F)
Vienna – Skoff d. Muster (F)
Tokyo – Becker d. Fitzgerald (F)
Paris – Mansdorf d. Rostagno (2R)
Antwerp (exh.) – J.McEnroe d. Chesnokov (F)
New York (Masters) – Becker d. Lendl (F)
Davis Cup – Steeb d. Wilander, Becker d. Edberg, Becker/Jelen d. Edberg/Jarryd (F)
I consider the year 1988 as the first one comparable with years of another decades because it was the first year with elevated status of the Australian Open, also the first year with the official Olympics, the last year with Davis Cup rubbers played without tie-breaks… very important for the season calendar “Sunshine Double” (Indian Wells/Key Biscayne) appeared for the first time in 1985, Paris (Bercy) – the most important regular indoor event, in 1986 had its inauguration, that year “Masters” was shifted from January to December… the year 1989 brought the end of a prestigious WCT event held in Dallas, Stratton Mountain was also played for the last time then, an event with similar status to “Canadian Open” and Cincinnati, so basically at the end of the 80s the season calendar was shaped in a way that featured the upcoming ATP decades


Rotterdam – Edberg d. J.McEnroe (F)
Indian Wells – Becker d. Edberg (F); Becker d. Noah (SF)
Key Biscayne – Mecir d. Lendl (F); Noah d. Wilander (QF)
Dallas – Mecir d. J.McEnroe (F); J.McEnroe d. Edberg (SF)
TokyoEdberg d. Pate (F)
Hamburg – Lendl d. Mecir (F)
RomeWilander d. Jaite (F)
Queens Club – Becker d. Connors (F)
Wimbledon Leconte d. Gomez, Connors d. Pernfors (4R); Doohan d. Becker (2R)
Forest Hills – Gomez d. Becker (SF)
Davis Cup – Becker d. J.McEnroe (p/o)
MontrealLendl d. Edberg (F)
Cincinnati – Edberg d. Becker (F); Edberg d. Connors (SF)
US Open – doubles finalConnors d. Leconte (4R);
J.McEnroe d. Zivojinovic (3R); Lundgren d. Cash (1R)
Tokyo – Edberg d. Lendl (F); Edberg d. Zivojinovic (SF)
BaselAgenor d. Agassi (SF)
Stockholm – Edberg d. Svensson (F)
New York (Masters): Lendl d. Wilander (F)
Davis Cup – Wilander d. Krishnan & Jarryd d. V.Amritraj (F)
Boca West – Lendl d. Wilander (F)
Chicago – Becker d. Lendl (F)
Indianapolis – Gomez d. Tulasne (F)
Forest Hills – Noah d. Vilas (F); Noah d. Lendl (SF)
Rome – Lendl d. E.Sanchez (F)
WimbledonCash d. Wilander (4R)
Stratton Mountain – Lendl d. Becker (F); Becker d. J.McEnroe (SF)
US OpenMecir d. Wilander (4R); Annacone d. J.McEnroe (1R)
Wembley – Noah d. Svensson (F)
Stockholm – Edberg d. Wilander (F)
Tokyo – Becker d. Edberg (F)
Paris – Becker d. Casal (F)
New York (Masters) – Lendl d. Becker (F); Edberg d. Noah (rr)
Davis Cup – Cash d. Pernfors (F); Taroczy d. Hlasek (Euro-SF)
Memphis – Edberg d. Noah (F) – shortest finals (games)
Philadelphia – Mecir d. Connors (SF)
Dallas – Lendl d. Mayotte (F)
Forest HillsLendl d. J.McEnroe (F)
Hamburg – Mecir d. Wilander (SF)
Rome – Noah d. Mecir (F); Noah d. Becker (SF)
Roland Garros – Leconte d. Noah (4R)
Queens Club – Becker d. Kriek (F)
Wimbledon – doubles final
Becker d. Mayotte (4R); Becker d. Nystrom (3R); Zivojinovic d. Wilander (1R)
Washington – Noah d. Jaite (F)
IndianapolisLendl d. Becker (SF)
Stratton Mountain – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F); Lendl d. Connors (SF)
Montreal – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F)
Cincinnati – Becker d. Wilander (F)
Antwerp (exh.)Lendl d. J.McEnroe (F); J.McEnroe d. Becker (SF)
Wembley – Lendl d. Becker (F)
Australian OpenJ.McEnroe d. Leconte (4R)
New York (Masters) – Lendl d. Becker (F)
Davis Cup – Becker d. Edberg (F)
Memphis – Connors d. Leconte (F)
Brussels – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F)
La Quinta – Connors d. Noah (F); Connors d. Higueras (SF)
DallasJ.McEnroe d. Connors (F)
Forest Hills – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F); Lendl d. Connors (SF)
Tokyo – Connors d. Lendl (F)
New York (Masters) – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F); McEnroe d. Willander (SF)
Davis Cup – Sweden d. USA: singles & doubles (F) Swedish history
Philadelphia – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F)
Milan – Lendl d. S.Mayer (QF)
Forest Hills – J.McEnroe d. Gerulaitis (F)
Queens ClubConnors d. J.McEnroe (F)
WimbledonJ.McEnroe d. Scanlon (4R)
Davis CupNoah d. Cash (SF)
Stockholm – Wilander d. Smid (F)
Antwerp (exh.) – J.McEnroe d. G.Mayer (F)
New York (Masters) – J.McEnroe d. Lendl (F)
Roland Garros – Wilander d. Lendl (4R)
Queens ClubConnors d. J.McEnroe (F)
Cincinnati – Denton d. J.McEnroe (SF)
San Francisco – J.McEnroe d. Connors (F)
Davis Cup – J.McEnroe d. Noah (F); J.McEnroe d. Wilander (QF)
New York (Masters) – Lendl d. J.McEnroe (F)
Boca West (Pepsi Grand Slam) – J.McEnroe d. Vilas (F)
North Conway – Clerc d. Vilas (F)
Tokyo – Taroczy d. Teltscher (F)
Wembley – Connors d. J.McEnroe (F)
New York (Masters) – Lendl d. Gerulaitis (F)
Philadelphia – Connors d. J.McEnroe (F)
Monte Carlo – Borg d. Vilas (F)
WimbledonPecci d. Kodes (2R)
Basel – Lendl d. Borg (F)
TokyoScanlon d. Borg (QF)
Stockholm – Borg d. J.McEnroe (F)
New York (Masters) – Borg d. Lendl (F); Borg d. Connors (SF)
Rome – Vilas d. Panatta (QF)
Davis CupPanatta d. Lendl; J.McEnroe d. Alexander (SF)
New York (Masters)Borg d. Gerulaitis (F); Borg d. J.McEnroeGerulaitis d. Connors (SF)
Rome – Borg d. Panatta (F)
New York (Masters) – J.McEnroe d. Ashe (F)
Boca Raton (Pepsi Grand Slam) – Borg d. Connors (F)
New York (Masters) – Connors d. Borg (F)
Davis Cup – Borg d. Kodes (F)
Bastad – Borg d. A.Panatta (F)