Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to daviscup87_sweden_india

  1. Voo de Mar says:
    1 hour 54 minutes… Points won by each set: | 31-26, 29-14, 38-33 |
    Points won directly behind the serve: 29% Wilander – 23 of 77… 13% Krishnan – 13 of 94

    1 hour 43 minutes… Points won by each set: | 34-20, 31-18, 26-9 |
    Points won directly behind the serve: 21% Jarryd – 12 of 57… 18% Amritraj – 15 of 81

    The Swedes had such a strong team in the mid 80s, they could beat India everywhere, on every surface, but as a host in the final, they chose clay to minimize Indian’s potential. The second best in the world Edberg became only a non-playing member of the team; better clay-courters Wilander [3] & Jarryd [15] were designated to singles, and Nystrom to doubles. And the outcome was overwhelming for the Indians, the scorelines more one-sided than in any other Open Era final (may be compared only to the 1979 final when USA destroyed Italy). The 34-year-old playing captain V.Amritraj [221] & his nine years younger compatriot Krishnan [58], with their old-fashioned styles, simply couldn’t compete on equal terms against much fitter Swedes. Especially V.Amritraj’s second serve & movement were way too slow on the slow surface… “It feels a little bit special to have clinched,” said Wilander after doubles. “I’ve only done it once before, but that was an early round against New Zealand four years ago.” V.Amritraj said it really didn’t matter who was playing doubles for the Swedes (Wilander/Nystrom replaced Edberg/Jarryd). “We knew we were going to play a very tough doubles team, whoever it was. But I think we had a good chance in the early stages of the third set if we could have stayed with them.” The Indians advanced to the Davis Cup ’87 final winning all ties on grass: the first two at home in New Delhi (Argentina, Israel), then they stunned Australia in Melbourne.

    SWEDEN d. INDIA 5-0 in The Scandinavium, Gothenburg, Sweden: Clay (Indoor)
    Mats Wilander (SWE) d. Ramesh Krishnan (IND) 6-4, 6-1, 6-3
    Anders Jarryd (SWE) d. Vijay Amritraj (IND) 6-3, 6-3, 6-1
    Joakim Nystrom / Mats Wilander (SWE) d. Anad Amritraj / Vijay Amritraj (IND) 6-2, 3-6, 6-1, 6-2
    Anders Jarryd (SWE) d. Ramesh Krishnan (IND) 6-4, 6-3
    Mats Wilander (SWE) d. Vijay Amritraj (IND) 6-2, 6-0

    From left: Wilander, Nystrom, Olsson (captain), Jarryd & Edberg

Leave a Reply