World Tour Finals – Day 8

The Final

(4)Roger Federer d. (6)Jo-Wilfried Tsonga   6-3, 6-7(6), 6-3          [ 2:19 h ]           H2H: 8-3

They played against each other third straight Sunday! It was their eighth match of the season which is a new record # Actually Federer should have won it in two sets, but wasted many opportunities in the 2nd set as he led 5:3* having not faced a break point, had also a mini-match point at 5 all (Tsonga missed in that game all 10 first serves!), 5:2 in the tie-break and a match point on return – Tsonga fought it off with a forehand winner. In the 3rd set deciding was the 8th game, in which the Frenchman saved two break points but at the third one he left too much space off his right side – it allowed Federer to make a crucial break. In the following game the Swiss won four straight points with offensive attitude, smashing on match point. A moment later he reacted very emotionally, it’s his 17th consecutive win (three titles) and a record sixth ‘Masters’ title (70 ATP titles overall), surpassing Ivan Lendl and Pete Sampras – both won five titles at the season-ending event. “I couldn’t be more happy. I couldn’t be more exhausted,” Federer told the crowd, “Jo sucked every last bit of energy out of me today.” Tsonga stated: “Today I fought all I can. I’m just happy tonight because I had a good week. Of course, to win is better but I gave everything. Tonight I can look [at] myself in the mirror and say, ‘Yeah, you fought enough.'” Stats of the final

Doubles results:
(3)M.Mirnyi/D.Nestor d. (8)M.Fyrstenberg/M.Matkowski 7-5, 6-3

# Eight meetings between two players within a year:
2011: Roger Federer vs. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (6-2)
Seven meetings between two players within a year:
1984: John McEnroe vs. Ivan Lendl (6-1)
1995: Michael Chang vs. Jim Courier (4-3)
2007: Rafael Nadal vs. Novak Djokovic (5-2)
2009: Rafael Nadal vs. Novak Djokovic (4-3)
Six meetings between two players within a year:
1984: John McEnroe vs. Jimmy Connors (6-0)
1986: Ivan Lendl vs. Boris Becker (3-3)
1989: Boris Becker vs. Stefan Edberg (4-2)
2004: Roger Federer vs. Lleyton Hewitt (6-0)
2006: Rafael Nadal vs. Roger Federer (4-2)
2008: Paul-Henri Mathieu vs. Marin Cilic (3-3)
2008: Rafael Nadal vs. Novak Djokovic (4-2)
2011: Novak Djokovic vs. Rafael Nadal (6-0)
This entry was posted in Tournaments. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to World Tour Finals – Day 8

  1. David says:

    Yesterday spanish television said that Björn Borg never lost a match with matchpoint; do you know if is it true?


  2. Wanaro Evernden says:

    Gary Lineker: “Football is a simple game: 22 men chase a ball for 90 minutes, and at the end, it’s always Germany wins.”
    I would say the same thing for tennis: Tennis is a simple game: two men returns the ball, and at the end, it’s always Federer wins.

  3. Wanaro Evernden says:

    PHM / Cilic, ihere are two intruders among its champions 🙂

  4. David says:

    Thanks Voo de Mar

Leave a Reply