Paris – final

(4)David Ferrer d. (q)Jerzy Janowicz        6-4, 6-3      [1:27 h]

Beautiful dream of the 21-year-old Pole came to an end. It’s always tough to say whether one guy plays so poorly because the other is so strong. Let’s assume Ferrer implemented the right tactics trying to return as many balls as possible and moving the giant Pole around the court,  in the consequence of that Janowicz was a shadow of himself from previous matches, he had problem with timing – a few times he stopped his body motion after strikes as he thought balls he hit would be long but they were landing inside Ferrer’s court, Janowicz’s magnificent drop-shots throughout the week this time usually hit the net, his 1st serve dropped (slightly above 50%)… The most entertaining moment of the final was witnessed as Ferrer led 1:0* (30/0) in the 2nd set – Janowicz delivered flash of his previous matches and had two game points to lead 3:1, he also had two break points in the following, longest game of the match (five deuces); since then he was visibly too tired to play on equal terms with the rock-solid ‘Pics’, for whom it’s 18th title (7th this year – no-one has won as many as Ferrer this year!), definitely the biggest one. He joins 12 compatriots who have won ‘Masters 1000′ events #.  Over the course of his career Ferrer fully deserved to get such a prestigious title, but who could expect he would win it indoors? The 30-year-old Spaniard is the first player outside the Top 4 to win a huge tournament since Robin Soderling, who triumphed in Paris 24 months ago. Now, Ferrer goes to London where on Tuesday he will try to extend his winning streak to ’11’ facing Juan Martin del Potro, whom has easily beaten twice in 2012. Janowicz leaves Paris in extremely happy mood anyway, especially from a financial point of view –  he earned this week 127,000$ more than during his four-year career! Stats of the final

(5)M.Bhupathi/R.Bopanna d. (7)A.Qureshi/JJ.Rojer 7-6(6), 6-3

# Spaniards with ‘Masters 1000’ titles:
21Rafael Nadal (2005-12)
4 – Juan Carlos Ferrero (2001-03)
3 – Carlos Moya (1998-04)
2 – Sergi Bruguera (1991-93), Alex Corretja (1997-00)
1 – Juan Aguilera (1990), Emilio Sanchez (1991), Roberto Carretero (1996), Albert Costa (1998), Albert Portas (2001), Felix Mantilla (2003), Tommy Robredo (2006), David Ferrer (2012) *
* Ferrer is the first Spaniard to win Paris-Bercy
This entry was posted in Tournaments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply