Monte Carlo – final

(2)Rafael Nadal d. (1)Novak Djokovic
-3, 6-1                                 [1:18 h]
Both past champions (Nicola Pietrangeli ’68; Ilie Nastase 1971-73; Bjorn Borg 1977, 79-80) and all spectators gathered in the stands on a sunny Sunday could expect another excellent battle between the two best players in the world. Their previous seven matches delivered high-quality entertainment despite the Serb won them all. This time only first two points of the second game provided bilaterally great tennis as both protagonists exchanged points with beautiful rallies finished at the net. Nadal broke in the 3rd game and never looked back. Especially his right side was rock solid, as he was either playing backhands or inside-out forehands. Djokovic seemed lethargic, deprived of the will to turn the things around. Nadal had beaten Djokovic on 16 occasions prior to that final, but never so emphatically like today. He finished the lopsided final with an ace served wide on ‘deuce’ box. It’s his 47th title, the first one since Roland Garros ’11. Nadal snaps Borg’s record of the most consecutive matches won in one tournament # and fortifies his record of the most titles in one tournament in succession (eight straight titles at Monte Carlo)! Besides Nadal, Guillermo Vilas is the only player in the Open era to win one tournament eight times, it was Buenos Aires in years 1973-1979 and 1982 (he got two titles in 1977, did not play in 1978 & 80). “To start the clay-court season winning here is an amazing feeling,” Nadal said. “This tournament is very special for me. My level of tennis was high during the last four matches, since the second round.” Stats of the final.

 Doubles final:
* (1)B.Bryan/M.Bryan d. (2)M.Mirnyi/D.Nestor 6-2, 6-3

Longest winning streaks in one tournament:
42 – Rafael Nadal (Monte Carlo 2005-12)
41 – Bjorn Borg (Wimbledon 1976-81)
40 – Roger Federer (Wimbledon 2003-2008 & US Open 2004-09)
38 – Guillermo Vilas (Buenos Aires 1973-81)
* The Bryans like Nadal clinched their 20th ‘1000’ title
This entry was posted in Tournaments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monte Carlo – final

  1. St-Denis says:

    Hi Voo de Mar,
    In fact, the Bryans with the 20th ‘1000″ title isn’t the record of history, It’s Daniel Nestor with 25 victory in Masters 1000! Better than Nadal! Lol! 🙂
    Here is the Top 5 in ‘1000’ :
    1- Daniel Nestor * ……………25
    T2- Mike Bryan*……………..20
    T2- Bob Bryan*……………….20
    4- Todd Woodbridge………..18
    5- Mark Knowles *……………17
    *active player

  2. Voo de Mar says:

    Yeah, I had it written ambiguously, I referred to Nadal with the ’20’ record. I read my articles many times to avoid ambiguous statements but no-one is perfect. Thanks for contribution 🙂

  3. St-Denis says:

    You are welcome! 🙂
    However, a lot of people and tennis fans forget the double almost in all the tournaments… Even if no-one is perfect, your blog is better than last year!
    Good day! 🙂

Leave a Reply