| Roland Garros 2006-2008 |

nadal_2006-08championUnprecedented period in the Open era for many reasons, most of all – for the first time one player (Rafael Nadal) defeats the other one (Roger Federer) in three consecutive Grand Slam finals; only Stefan Edberg and Boris Becker had met in three consecutive finals of the same major (Wimbledon) before, with Edberg edging 2-1. During his 2006 triumph, Nadal overcame Guillermo Vilas‘ record of the most victories in a row on clay (the Argentine won 53 matches in 1977, Nadal was unbeaten on clay 81 straight matches in years 2005-07!).  In 2008 Nadal became the second man to win in Paris fourth year in succession (Bjorn Borg did it in years 1978-81). The Mallorcan repeated also other accomplishment of the Ice-Borg – while triumphing in 2008, he devastated all opponents (dropped just 41 games) like no-one in a Grand Slam event since Borg captured French Open titles in 1978 (lost 32 games) and 1980 (38 games). Federer, in years 2006-07 was just one win shy of equaling Rod Laver‘s 1969 feat of claiming four Grand Slam titles in a row. No other player was so close to make it before Federer’s ascendancy. The Swiss managed in 2007 to level other, much less important record though – in Melbourne & Paris stretched his Grand Slam winning streak to 11 matches not dropping a set (John McEnroe did it in 1984; London & New York).
Roland Garros 2006-07                     Roland Garros 2008
This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply