Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to vienna10melzer_maurer

  1. Voo de Mar says:
    Points won by each set: | 44-42, 40-38, 37-31 |
    Points won directly behind the serve:
    34 % Melzer – 38 of 110
    40 % Maurer – 49 of 122

    22 years after an all-Austrian final in the Austrian capital (the court changed its colour in the meantime from green to orange), spectators could enjoy another final match between two local players – actually the tightest final of 2010. In the opening set Melzer [12] wasted five break points at 3-all and a set point at 6:5 in the tie-break – ‘lucky loser’ Maurer [157] fought it off with a service winner. Perhaps Johann Strauss’ “Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka” inspired Maurer during a break between sets, because he began the 2nd set playing his best tennis to establish a 2:0* lead. Later on he had a mini-match point at 4:2, and led 5:3. Serving to win the title in the 10th game, he fired seemingly an ace at 15-all, Fergus Murphy announced (30/15), but Melzer challenged the ball which was minimally outside the “T” line – Maurer lost his focus because of that, and committed two straight double faults to be broken for the first time in the match. Nevertheless, he was three points away from the title again leading 4:3* in the tie-break. He had some timid outlook to make a huge upset in the decider too, as he’d led 1:0 (40/15) & 3:2 (30/0), before lost his serve at 3-all. “It was a very tough match for me today,” Melzer said. “He was really serving well, and then at the end he was serving for the match, I was a little lucky to get back into the match. I’m really fortunate to defend my title. I’m very happy. It’s a lot of emotions going through a match like this. Winning the title, it means a lot to me.”

    Melzer’s route to his 3rd title:
    2 Lukasz Kubot 7-6(3), 7-6(2)
    Q Philipp Kohlschreiber w/o
    S Nicolas Almagro 6-4, 6-4
    W Andreas Haider-Maurer 6-7(10), 7-6(4), 6-4

    The all-Austrian finals of the Open Era:
    1979 Linz: Peter Feigl d. Hans Kary 6-3, 6-4, 7-6
    1979 Lagos: Hans Kary d. Peter Feigl 6-4, 3-6, 6-2
    1988 Vienna: Hors Skoff d. Thomas Muster 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-2
    1991 Florence: Thomas Muster d. Horst Skoff 6-2, 6-7, 6-2
    1991 Geneva: Thomas Muster d. Horst Skoff 6-2, 6-4
    1995 Bucharest: Thomas Muster d. Gilbert Schaller 6-3, 6-4
    2010 Vienna: Jurgen Melzer d. Andreas H-Maurer 6-7, 7-6, 6-4

Leave a Reply