Rosset  played surprisingly good all serve-and-volley match against the best indoor player of 1993. Only details separated them, in the opener the Swiss saved a double set point at *4:5, but on the third set point the German  passed him with a forehand return. The 2nd set tie-break was anticlimactic: Rosset probably served an ace, thought for a moment he led *2:0, but the linesman called it ‘out’ and the umpire didn’t change that decision. Rosset was very angry and when he committed the only double fault of the match at 1:4, he said something to the umpire – he was immediately punished with a point deduction which created a quintuple match point, and Stich finished the tie-break 7/1 with another good S/V action.
You must be logged in to post a comment.